SOS Roadshow Still Travelling

By Bryan Walker 24/08/2011


The last time we reported on the Jim Salinger, Rod Oram and Caroline Saunders roadshow was after their Hamilton visit in July which I attended. They haven’t finished yet, and their itinerary for September to November is posted below. Jim Salinger comments on their visits since they were in Hamilton:

“Since our Bay of Plenty/Waikato tour we have been to a few places in the South Island with great reception. First up was Tasman District and we had an enthusiastic audience of 110 at Siegfried Estate, near Richmond, followed by 60 in Nelson (we were competing with three other events going on concurrently in Nelson!). This was followed the next day by 60
in Masterton. Then the following week we spoke in Timaru to an audience of 160 – our best yet. By the time we have finished the roadshow we will have given 33 presentation presentations throughout New Zealand.”

The Nelson Mail reported their message in terms of the need for cities and businesses to focus on sustainability and innovation in order to survive and combat climate change. It’s an impressive service the three are providing, spreading out across the country and speaking in terms relevant to New Zealand and to the region they are visiting.

 Climate Tour September – November 2011

Dr Jim Salinger, Professor Caroline Saunders and Rod Oram

“Maintaining farm productivity and profits in an uncertain climate”

 

Auckland

Friday 2 September

Auckland 4.30 to 6.30 pm Owen Glen Building, Lecture Theatre OGGB4 Grafton Road, University of Auckland

Title: Preparing for White Swans: Climate change and opportunities for the economy

Contact:  Ilse Hindle i.hindle@auckland.ac.nz

 

Christchurch

Thursday 22 September

Christchurch 12 noon to 2 pm, University of Canterbury venue TBA

Title: Preparing for White Swans: Climate change and opportunities for the economy

Contact:  Bronwyn Hayward bronwyn.hayward@canterbury.ac.nz

Rangiora 4 to 6 pm Enterprise North Canterbury venue TBA

Contact: Heather Warwick heather@enterprisenc.co.nz

 

Central Otago

Friday 23 September

Omakau 3 to 5 pm Omakau Rugby Club

Contact: Jonathan Gadd jonathan.gadd@codc..govt.nz

 

Palmerston North

Friday 30 September

Horizons Manawatu 11 am to 1 pm (morning tea 10.30 am) Palmerston North Convention Centre, 354 Main Street, Palmerston North

Contact: Craig Mitchell craig.mitchell@horizons.govt.nz


Monday 10 October

Oamaru

Oamaru 12 noon to 2 pm Inkbox Theatre, Oamaru Opera House (Waitaki District Council)

Contact: Richard Mabon rmabon@waitaki.govt.nz

 

Palmerston 7 to 9 pm venue TBA

Contact: Dugald MacTavish dugald@es.co.nz

 

Dunedin

Tuesday 11 October

  1. Centre for the Study of Agriculture, Food and Environment CSAFE, University of Otago

Title: Preparing for White Swans: Climate change and opportunities for the agricultural economy

Dunedin, 10. 30 am to 12.30 pm Edgar Centre, Portsmouth Drive, Dunedin

Contact: Chris Rosin chris.rosin@otago.ac.nz

  1. Centre for Theology and Public Issues, University of Otago

 University of Otago, venue TBA

Contact. Andrew Bradstock andrew.bradstock@otago.ac.nz

The second seminar will look at ethics and intergenerational issues

 

Southland

Thursday 27 October

Invercargill Environment Southland venue TBA

Contact: Michele Poole michele.poole@es.govt.nz

 

Wellington

Tuesday 1 November

Wellington 4.30 to 6.30 pm Victoria University of Wellington Hunter Building Council Chambers, Climate Change Research Institute

Title: Preparing for White Swans: Climate change and opportunities for the economy

Contact: Liz Thomas liz.thomas@vuw.ac.nz