SOS Roadshow: Final Days

By Bryan Walker 13/09/2011


Here’s the latest update on the Jim Salinger, Rod Oram and Caroline Saunders road show. It contains more complete information on venues and two or three additions to the list we published three weeks back. By the time the tour finishes in November they will have given 35 seminars. That’s a sterling effort which hopefully will have engaged interest from the farming community. I detected, when watching a TV panel discussion recently which included the new Federated Farmers president, reason to hope that under its new leadership Federated Farmers will be more willing to understand and share the concern over climate change than has been the case heretofore. As the road show makes clear there is economic benefit for them in facing the reality. 

Climate Tour September — November 2011

Dr Jim Salinger, Professor Caroline Saunders and Rod Oram

’Maintaining farm productivity and profits in an uncertain climate’

 

Christchurch

Thursday 22 September

Christchurch 12 noon to 2 pm, University of Canterbury, North Arts Lecture Theatre A3

Title: Preparing for White Swans: Climate change and opportunities for the economy

Contact:  Bronwyn Hayward bronwyn.hayward@canterbury.ac.nz

Kaiapoi 5.30 to 7.30 pm Enterprise North Canterbury, Riverview Restaurant, Kaiapoi Club, Raven Street, Kaiapoi

Contact: Heather Warwick heather@enterprisenc.co.nz

 

Central Otago

Friday 23 September

Omakau 3 to 5 pm Central Otago District Council, Matakanui Rugby Clubrooms, Omakau

Contact: Jonathan Gadd jonathan.gadd@codc.govt.nz

 

Whakatane

Wednesday 28 September

Whakatane Environment Bay of Plenty 1 to 3.30 pm, Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi Conference Room 1 McAlister Street entrance, Whakatāne

Contact: Ben Banks Ben.Banks@envbop.govt.nz

 

Palmerston North

Friday 30 September

Horizons Manawatu 11 am to 1 pm (morning tea 10.30 am) Palmerston North Convention Centre, 354 Main Street, Palmerston North

Contact: Ally Koehler Ally.Koehler@horizons.govt.nz

 

Monday 10 October

Oamaru

Oamaru 12 noon to 2 pm Inkbox Theatre, Oamaru Opera House (Waitaki District Council)

Contact: Richard Mabon rmabon@waitaki.govt.nz

Palmerston 6.30 to 9 pm East Otago High School Library

Contact: Dugald MacTavish dugald@es.co.nz

 

Dunedin

Tuesday 11 October

  1. Centre for the Study of Agriculture, Food and Environment CSAFE, University of Otago

Title: Preparing for White Swans: Climate change and opportunities for the agricultural economy

Dunedin, 10. 30 am to 12.30 pm Edgar Centre, Portsmouth Drive, Dunedin

Contact: Chris Rosin chris.rosin@otago.ac.nz

  1. Centre for Theology and Public Issues, afternoon, University of Otago

University of Otago, venue TBA
Contact. Andrew Bradstock andrew.bradstock@otago.ac.nz

The second seminar will look at ethics and intergenerational issues

 

Southland

Thursday 27 October

Invercargill Environment Southland 1.30 to 3.30 pm Invercargill Workingmen’s Club, 154 Esk Street, Invercargill

Contact: Michele Poole michele.poole@es.govt.nz

 

Wellington

Tuesday 1 November

Wellington 4.30 to 6.30 pm Victoria University of Wellington Hunter Building Council Chambers, Climate Change Research Institute

Title: Preparing for White Swans: Climate change and opportunities for the economy

Contact: Liz Thomas liz.thomas@vuw.ac.nz

 

Hauraki Gulf

Waiheke Island Date and venue TBA. Either 23 October or 5/6 November.

Contact: John Stansfield john.stansfield@oxfam.org.nz

 

Marlborough

Monday 7 November

Blenheim 3 to 5 pm Marlborough Wine Research Centre, 85 Budge Street, Blenheim

Contact: Rob Agnew Rob.Agnew@plantandfood.co.nz